Compare
Wali Marriage vs SunnahMatch
Both apps take the wali seriously, in different ways. Here is how each describes it, with SunnahMatch quoted from its own pages.
Wali Marriage vs SunnahMatch: what is the difference?
Both involve the wali. On SunnahMatch, women record wali details before accepting a conversation request, and an optional Active Wali gets read-only access to linked conversations once that connection is active. On Wali Marriage, a woman's verified wali approves a connection before the conversation opens and can read it, and the two families can talk in their own thread. Wali Marriage opens across the US on 15 March 2027.
Does SunnahMatch verify identity?
Its Safety page says: “We do not claim that every member’s identity has been independently verified.” On Wali Marriage, the Verified badge means a person matched a government ID and a live selfie through Didit, and walis verify too.
Which app is in more languages?
SunnahMatch's App Store listing shows English. Wali Marriage runs in English and 30 more languages, including Arabic, Urdu and Farsi read right to left.
How the wali takes part
SunnahMatch's How it works page says: “Women need recorded wali details before accepting a conversation request.” It adds that “Saving these details does not invite a guardian or give them access to conversations,” and that a woman can separately invite an Active Wali: “Once that connection is active, the guardian has read-only access to the linked conversations.”
On Wali Marriage, a woman links her wali, who verifies his identity. He then approves each connection before the conversation opens and can read it, and the two families can talk in their own thread. He can also browse for her in the Family hub, suggest someone and keep a shared shortlist. Read how it works for walis.
Verification
SunnahMatch's Safety page says: “We do not claim that every member’s identity has been independently verified.” On Wali Marriage, the Verified badge means a person matched a government ID and a live selfie (through Didit), and walis verify too. A badge is not a background check.
Photos and languages
SunnahMatch's Safety page says: “The current app marks photo sharing as coming soon.” On Wali Marriage, a woman's photos stay hidden until she chooses one person to show them to. SunnahMatch's App Store listing shows English; Wali Marriage runs in English and 30 more languages, including Arabic, Urdu and Farsi.
One honest difference: SunnahMatch is live today, and Wali Marriage opens across the United States on 15 March 2027.
Compared side by side (updated 1 November 2026)
| Wali Marriage | SunnahMatch (their words) | |
|---|---|---|
| The wali | Built around it: she can link her wali, who, once verified, approves a connection and can read the conversation; families can talk to each other in their own thread. | “Women need recorded wali details before accepting a conversation request.” An optional Active Wali: “Once that connection is active, the guardian has read-only access to the linked conversations.” |
| Her photos | Hidden by default. She chooses one person to show them to, after a connection is approved, and can hide them again. | “The current app marks photo sharing as coming soon.” |
| Screenshots | Screen recording is blocked on photos; if a screenshot is detected, she is told. | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Verification | An ID and selfie check through Didit for the Verified badge; walis verify too. | “We do not claim that every member’s identity has been independently verified.” |
| How you browse | One profile at a time, read in full before you decide. | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Languages | English and 30 more, including Arabic, Urdu and Farsi read right to left. | App Store listing: “English”. |
| Price | Free to join, browse and reply. Paid plans add capacity, never access. Launch offer: 60 days of Premium free, cancel any time in the first 60 days and pay nothing. | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Who it is for | Muslims looking for marriage, with their family involved. Not a dating app. | Not stated on the pages we checked |
What the other apps say is quoted from their own public pages: SunnahMatch (checked 3 November 2026). Their apps change; check them yourself. Names are their owners' trademarks and are used only to identify them.
Read more about how the wali takes part and how photos stay private.
Question 1 of 3
We will tell you the day Wali Marriage opens near you.
By joining you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy. We'll email about every two weeks; unsubscribe anytime.